Hamlin County, SD

County in Northeast SD

Hamlin County is located on the eastern side of South Dakota, bordered on the north by Codington County, on the west by Clark County, on the east by Deuel County and on the south by Brookings and Kingsbury counties.

 Hamlin County was organized in 1873 and named after Abraham Lincoln’s first vice president, Hannibal Hamlin. The current courthouse, built in 1916, sits in the middle of the county in Hayti, South Dakota at 300 4th street. The building continues to exhibit many of its original art Nuevo influences, seen in the original light fixtures, impressive stone facade and marble staircase.

 The county is home to ten lakes, with the largest being lake Poinsett and has six communities and three schools.  Just under 6,000 people call Hamlin County home and has been growing over the past 20 years.

Sponsors of Hamlin County, SD

Since the founding of our communities, organizations, businesses and citizens have stepped forward to build and serve their community. Click on any of the logos below to learn about those who made this website possible! If you would like to learn about becoming a sponsor CLICK HERE!

Towns of Hamlin County, SD

The small towns of the Midwest are rich in history and a great way of life! Below you can visit and learn about the small towns we call home! Towns that have their name highlighted have become FEATURED TOWNS. Businesses/organizations from these towns have stepped forward as SPONSORS enabling us to include (or will include as acquired) stories and website links to ALL their community organizations (chambers, groups and departments, etc.), stories and website links to ALL their points of interest, annual festivals/events and stories done about their citizens, veterans and faith community. To learn how to become a featured town CLICK HERE!

Businesses of Hamlin County, SD

The businesses of our towns are truly the lifeblood of each community, click on any businesses below to learn about them, to learn how to add your business to your town and county page CLICK HERE!