Lafayette County, MO

County in Northwest MO

Lafayette County, organized November 16, 1820, was originally named Lillard County after James Lillard of Tennessee. James Lillard served in the first state constitutional convention and the first state legislature. Lillard County was organized along with seven other counties at the beginning of 1821. Mount Vernon was the temporary count seat of the county. February 16, 1825 brought the name change of Lillard County to Lafayette, after Marquis de La Fayette’s visit to the United States. The permanent seat of Lafayette County was placed in the “Old Town” of Lexington.

Sponsors of Lafayette County, MO

Since the founding of our communities, organizations, businesses and citizens have stepped forward to build and serve their community. Click on any of the logos below to learn about those who made this website possible! If you would like to learn about becoming a sponsor CLICK HERE!

Towns of Lafayette County, MO

The small towns of the Midwest are rich in history and a great way of life! Below you can visit and learn about the small towns we call home! Towns that have their name highlighted have become FEATURED TOWNS. Businesses/organizations from these towns have stepped forward as SPONSORS enabling us to include (or will include as acquired) stories and website links to ALL their community organizations (chambers, groups and departments, etc.), stories and website links to ALL their points of interest, annual festivals/events and stories done about their citizens, veterans and faith community. To learn how to become a featured town CLICK HERE!

Businesses of Lafayette County, MO

The businesses of our towns are truly the lifeblood of each community, click on any businesses below to learn about them, to learn how to add your business to your town and county page CLICK HERE!