Mountrail County, ND

County in Northwest ND

Mountrail County was first established in 1873 (as Mountraille County) by the Dakota Territorial Legislature. The boundaries extended from the Missouri River north to the border with Canada. It remained a county when North Dakota became a state in 1889, but in 1892 North Dakota Legislature authorized neighboring Ward County to take over all of Mountrail's territory, and this county was eliminated.

At the November 3, 1908, general election, a vote was held in Ward County on whether to recreate Mountrail with different boundaries. The vote was 4,207 to 4,024 in favor of the new county, but North Dakota's Attorney General sued the Secretary of State over the validity of the vote. Organization of the new Mountrail County was delayed until the Supreme Court affirmed the vote in January 1909

Sponsors of Mountrail County, ND

Since the founding of our communities, organizations, businesses and citizens have stepped forward to build and serve their community. Click on any of the logos below to learn about those who made this website possible! If you would like to learn about becoming a sponsor CLICK HERE!

Towns of Mountrail County, ND

The small towns of the Midwest are rich in history and a great way of life! Below you can visit and learn about the small towns we call home! Towns that have their name highlighted have become FEATURED TOWNS. Businesses/organizations from these towns have stepped forward as SPONSORS enabling us to include (or will include as acquired) stories and website links to ALL their community organizations (chambers, groups and departments, etc.), stories and website links to ALL their points of interest, annual festivals/events and stories done about their citizens, veterans and faith community. To learn how to become a featured town CLICK HERE!

Businesses of Mountrail County, ND

The businesses of our towns are truly the lifeblood of each community, click on any businesses below to learn about them, to learn how to add your business to your town and county page CLICK HERE!